The weeks have gone by…

The weeks have gone by…

In which I have fought the darkness in my mind and under my skin and come up for air again. But there are no flowers to smell when I breathe. The straggly rose bush is bare. There is no sweet smell of the frangipani mixed with salty air from my birthplace.

The weeks have gone by…

In which I wished a man a happy birthday. And the dust of what wasn’t and would never be with us whooshed around me. Then the rain came and washed it all away. Almost all.

The weeks have gone by…

In which I thought of a teenage girl who was kind to me when I was a child. A girl who gave me her posters and listened to my lisping and giggling as I crunched chocolate marshmallows. In these weeks I went looking for her, and found her, but she didn’t want to know me. 

The weeks have gone by…

2 responses to “The weeks have gone by…

  1. Some lovely images in here. Hope you are not really finding things in life as dark as this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

