Forgiveness

I’m on the chambray sofa (yes THE fabric of 1995). Little River Band’s Greatest Hits are on the stereo. ‘Baby, you’ve got a man on your mind’. HE is on the sister single armchair far away.

It’s a teary night. That would be another one. Though I won’t talk to HIM by phone tonight, we have text messaged and we will again before we go to bed. It is OUR way. People disapprove and some tell me.

‘Someone will get hurt.’ (And that should most fucking-certainly-if-there’s-any-justice-in-this-world be me.)

But I had to go from there. And come back here.

I believe HE has forgiven me. But have I forgiven myself?

Leave a Reply

